Attention antitrusters!  I’m pleased to pass along news of interest to all lawyers and economists active in antitrust litigation:  The American Antitrust Institute has instituted a new award program to recognize those each year who have made the most significant contributions in antitrust enforcement. 

While I don’t speak for the group, I expect the goal is to recognize and encourage private plaintiff or other enforcement actions that make the most significant doctrinal or theoretical contributions to an effective competition law.

Details for nominations and self-nomination appear below; my thanks to Wolters Kluwer and AntitrustConnect for allowing me to publicize this award.

Call for Entries for AAI 2013 Antitrust Enforcement Awards

The American Antitrust Institute invites legal practitioners and economists, to submit entries for the AAI 2013 Antitrust Enforcement Awards. Two award categories have been identified for the awards program’s inaugural year:

  • Outstanding Antitrust Litigation Achievement in Private Law Practice
  • Outstanding Antitrust Litigation Achievement in Economics

Qualified nominations will be for antitrust-focused litigation that was (a) initiated in or appealed in any U.S. state or federal court and (b) resulted (whether or not subject to appeal) in a final judgment, verdict, dismissal, conviction, injunction, order, or settlement between January 1, 2012 and June 30, 2013.

The award submission period ends on September 30. The awards will be presented at a gala dinner on Tuesday, December 3, 2013 following the AAI’s Annual Private Antitrust Enforcement Conference in Washington, DC.

The judging committee is chaired by AAI Advisory Board Member Daniel E. Gustafson of Gustafson Gluek PLLC and comprised of:

  • Jonathan Baker, American University’s Washington College of Law
  • Ellen S. Cooper, Office of the Attorney General of Maryland
  • Robert W. Doyle, Jr., Doyle, Barlow & Mazard PLLC
  • Harry First, New York University School of Law
  • Kathleen E. Foote, California Department of Justice Antitrust Section
  • Warren Grimes, Southwestern Law School
  • Thomas Horton, South Dakota School of Law
  • Thomas M. McCoy, O’Melveny & Myers LLP
  • Roger Noll, Stanford University
  • Christopher Sagers, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
  • Hollis Salzman, Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi L.L.P.
  • Richard O. Zerbe, University of Washington

Download the Entry Form and the Award Procedures here.

About the American Antitrust Institute

The American Antitrust Institute is an independent Washington-based non-profit education, research, and advocacy organization. Our mission is to increase the role of competition, assure that competition works in the interests of consumers, and challenge abuses of concentrated economic power in the American and world economy. To learn more about the AAI, please visit

 Questions? Contact Sarah Frey at  

This page as PDF

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *