Fordham University School of Law’s Competition Law Institute (FCLI) will hold its 44th Annual Conference on International Antitrust Law and Policy on September 14-15, 2017, at Fordham Law School in New York City.

James Keyte, FCLI Director and Adjunct Professor of Law at Fordham Law School and Partner at Skadden Arps, will present introductory remarks on September 14. Keynote remarks will be presented by Andreas Mundt, Chair of the ICN Steering Group and President of Germany’s Bundeskartellamt, and Andrew C. Finch, Acting Assistant Attorney General in charge of the U.S. Department of Justice Antitrust Division, on the first day. Keynote remarks on the second day of the conference will be presented by Maureen K. Ohlhausen, Acting Chairman of the FTC, and Johannes Laitenberger, Director-General of DG Competition, EU Commission.

A panel on “The Role of the Courts in Antitrust Enforcement: Global Developments” will be moderated by Mr. Keyte and will feature as panelists Anthony Collins of the General Court of the European Union; Nicholas Forwood; and Ding Wenlian, Deputy Chief Justice, Intellectual Property Bench, Shanghai People’s Court. A panel on “‘Must-Have’ Content and the Antitrust Playing Field: New Issues for Media and Sports,” will follow, moderated by Ewoud C. Sakkers, Head of Unit, European Competition Network, Directorate-General for Competition, European Commission. Panelists include Arthur J. Burke; Cristina Caffarra; William L. Daly; Ana Paula Martinez; and Canada Commissioner of Competition John Pecman. Another panel on “E-Commerce and Antitrust: A Multijurisdictional Challenge” will be moderated by Terry Calvani. Panelists include Doris Hildebrand; Greg McCurdy; Giovanni Pitruzzella, Chairman, Italian Competition Authority; and Pablo Trevisan, Commissioner, National Commission for the Defense of Competition, Argentina.

On September 15, a panel on “Priorities and Prospects: Antitrust in a Changing World” will be moderated by former FTC Chairman William E. Kovacic. Panelists include Isabelle de Silva, President, Autorité de la Concurrence, France; Johannes Laitenberger, Director-General of DG Competition, EU Commission; Han Li Toh, Chief Executive, Competition Commission of Singapore; former FTC Commissioner Joshua D. Wright; and Clifford H. Aronson. In addition, a panel on “IP and Antitrust: An In-House Counsel’s Perspective” will be moderated by Mathew Heim. Panelists include Horatio Guitierrez; Dina Kallay; and Greg Slater.


The conference will be preceded by Antitrust Economics and Global Practitioners workshops on September 13, 2017.

For additional information and registration details, contact the Competition Law Institute or email the conference staff.

This page as PDF

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *