Fordham University School of Law’s Competition Law Institute (FCLI) will hold its 45th Annual Conference on International Antitrust Law and Policy, on September 6-7, 2018, and an Antitrust Economics Workshop, September 5, 2018, at Fordham Law School in New York City.

The two-day conference will include antitrust agency heads, senior officials from antitrust authorities, leading attorneys from law firms and in-house legal departments, academics, and students of competition law from around the globe for one of the premier international conferences in antitrust law and policy. This year’s panel discussions will address antitrust and populism, merger enforcement around the globe, emerging issues in competition law and health care, vertical restraints, and managing multijurisdictional risks and issues. A networking luncheon and reception will take place on Thursday, September 6.

The scheduled conference keynote speakers are Makan Delrahim, Assistant Attorney General in charge of the U.S. Department of Justice Antitrust Division, FTC Commissioner Maureen Ohlhausen, Johannes Laitenberger of the European Commission, and Andrea Coscelli of the U.K. Competition and Markets Authority. Former FTC Chairman William Kovacic will deliver closing remarks.

Panelists will include: Jean-François Bellis of Van Bael & Bellis, John Blood of AB InBev, Fiona Carlin of Baker McKenzie, John Davies of Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP, Isabelle de Silva of France’s Autorité de la Concurrence, Debbie Feinstein of Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP, Eleanor M. Fox and Scott Hemphill of New York University School of Law, Judge Douglas H. Ginsburg of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, FTC Bureau of Competition Director D. Bruce Hoffman, Herbert Hovenkamp of the University of Pennsylvania Law School, Jonathan Jacobson of Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati, Gail Levine of Uber, Carles Esteva Mosso of the European Commission, Andreas Mundt of Germany’s Bundeskartellamt, Alejandra Palacios of the Mexican Federal Economic Competition Commission, Sharis Pozen of General Electric, Carl Shapiro of the University of California at Berkeley, Howard Shelanski of Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP, D. Daniel Sokol of the University of Florida, Joseph E. Stiglitz of Columbia University, Steven C. Sunshine of Skadden, and Nils Wahls of the EU Court of Justice.

The two-day conference will be preceded by a one-day Antitrust Economics Workshop on Wednesday September 5, featuring economic experts and leading antitrust practitioners speaking on key topics. A networking luncheon that day is also scheduled.

Registration details and further information is available at


This page as PDF